Municipal Departments

Click on Department Name for More Detail
Name Description
Mayor's Office Head of the Harbor is governed by a board of trustees composed of a mayor and four trustees. The trustees enact village ordinances, establish the budget, authorize the expenditure of village funds, and approve the mayor's appointments of residents as members of village boards and committees.
Village Clerk The clerk serves as the Records management Officer, Elections Officer, and liaison to the various Boards and Committees, as well as handling residents concerns and complaints.
Village Treasurer The Treasurer is appointed by the Village Board of Trustees and is charged with the responsibility of managing all details related to the Village's fiscal operations.
Village Attorney Anthony B. Tohill - Provides legal counsel to the Mayor, Board of Trustees, the Village Clerk and all departments and boards of the Village.
Village Historian Leighton Coleman III - Is the Mayoral appointee responsible for matters relating to the history of Head of the Harbor's and the surrounding community.
Village Court The Village Court is a part of the Unified Court System of New York State and has both civil and criminal adjudication powers in cases of original jurisdiction. Jury and non-jury cases can be held in the Village Courtroom.
Building Department Village Code and Permit and application downloads
Highway Department The Village Highway Department performs street maintenance and road repairs and maintains village parks.
Police Department The police department has a staff of 24 members, who in cooperation with the community, are committed to providing a safe and secure environment in the Village of Head-of-the-harbor through the professional discharge of their duties.
Engineering Department The Village Engineer provides professional engineering services in the design and construction management of Village projects and technical assistance to the Planning Board and other Village Boards and Departments as needed.
Fire Department / EMT The village contracts with the St. James Fire District for fire and emergency medical technician services. Fire hydrants are serviced by Suffolk County Water Authority and St. James Water District.